Books!!!

Supposedgenius162 over at Thought Orchard tagged me in a game, and it’s about books, so I’m in. The best part of the holidays, aside from getting to go home and see family and friends, is that I finally get to read for fun for the first time in four months. It’s so exciting to not have history or philosophy or econ or journalism readings to do! I’ve spent most of the day reading and it has been wonderful. Now I’m going to take a break and answer the questions in the game.

1. Which book made you feel confident about your life?
Rules of Civility by Amor Towles is a wonderful book because it seems to start out as a love story, but as you read further you realize that it is really about a young woman realizing she doesn’t need a man in her life to be successful or make her life meaningful (she also ends up becoming a journalist so I definitely have a soft spot for her for that reason also). It’s my current favourite book and I really recommend it. It made me feel empowered and realize that there’s more to life than finding love.

2. Which book made you sympathise with its characters?
Looking for Alaska by John Green. The first time I read it I was in Grade 9. I sympathized with Miles because he, like me, was starting a new school where he didn’t know anyone. The second time I read it was after my mom’s death. That time I related much more with Alaska, who had experienced her own tragedy and was struggling to deal with it.

3. Which book made you feel anxious?
Right now I’m reading The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau, and it’s put me on edge. It’s another dystopia thing like the Hunger Games with a teenage girl fighting against the system etc. I’m like halfway through and it’s a great book but currently she is tramping through the wilderness in the remains of the war-ravaged US and there’s mutated beasts and other scary things attacking her.

4. Which book made you feel annoyed?
Lis gave me A Light Between Oceans  by M. L. Stedman as a grad present, and I’ve honestly been trying to get through it, but it’s so frustrating. When you take a child who washes up in a shipwreck and raise her as your own, you shouldn’t be surprised that it might cause problems. It’s supposed to be this amazing book, but the characters are so flawed that you have no one to root for and the situation is just so unlikely.

5. Which book made you feel disappointed?
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak was so critically acclaimed that I was sure I would love it. It took me forever to read though and ultimately I found it really dull and unsatisfying. Maybe I didn’t get the deep meanings in it, I don’t know. I will probably still go see the movie at some point, but I don’t have high hopes for it.

6. Which book made you feel confused?
My philosophy textbooks. This is a cop out, I know, but it had to be said.

7. Which book made you feel satisfied?
I agree with supposedgenius that Mockingjay was a satisfying ending to The Hunger Games. Ditto with Allegiant as the ending of the Divergent series. Lis hated Allegiant, but I thought it fit really well with the themes all through the series and it was satisfying, if not happy.

8. Which book made you feel like you could really relate to the main character?
Sorry to harp on this one book, but Katey Kontent from Rules of Civility is pretty much me. Or at the very least she is the woman I aspire to be. She is smart, witty, and independent. She doesn’t back down from a challenge and she fights for what she wants. And did I mention she’s witty?

4 thoughts on “Books!!!

  1. This is a cool concept! I may have to borrow it sometime 🙂

  2. Suggestion from me: If you like The Hunger Games, and The Testing (which I will definitely be reading based on your suggestion!), you definitely have to read, “Battle Royale”. It’s pretty much the original Hunger Games, written in Japan. It’s super long (like 700 pages), but SO good and action packed like HG that it’s a fast read!

    I also wasn’t super into The Book Thief. I think I liked it more than you – but probably only because I read it before all the hype, so was able to read without preconceived notions 🙂

    I never even touched my philosophy books… hahaha!

    • Ooo sounds awesome, I’ll definitely read it and tell you what I think!
      I’m turning into the biggest philosophy nerd. I actually read all the books and went to all the lectures this semester, but it may have had to do with the fact that the prof was so attractive.

Leave a Reply

