A very strange date

Rule number one about living in residence: Everyone knows your business. All. The. Time.

They know what kind of music you listen to because then can hear it through the paper thin walls. On a related note they also know if you sing in the shower. Or if you’re up late practicing your embarrassingly bad French for your oral presentation the next day.

And they also know if you have guests. This girl from waaaay down the hallway came up to me in the tv lounge the other day and was like, “Hey who is that guy who has been hanging out in your room lately? He’s really cute. Do you like him? Are you dating him? You should date him.”

Like seriously, there is no privacy here. I think I’ve talked to that girl like three times total and I can’t stress enough how far her room is from mine.

And okay, yes, Mickey has come over a couple of times to work on econ homework with me. And honestly that’s what we do. We sit in my room with our laptops doing calculations with the door open. Nothing major.

I’m calling him Mickey as in Mickey Mantle the baseball player, because he’s on the baseball team and there’s a bit of a resemblance. He always uses baseball metaphors that I don’t get, like “batting a thousand” and it makes him laugh when I make him explain what they mean.

He’s always laughing. I like that.

After we finished working on Thursday he asked me on a date. He didn’t have anything planned yet, he explained, but he wanted to know if I was interested. He said he had never had so much fun doing homework before.

He texted me on Saturday and asked me if I was free for said date, and I really wanted to go, except that I had a problem.

Kay: I actually have something else I need to do tonight

Mickey: Oh…okay that’s alright

Kay: Well I was kind of hoping you would come with me, but first I have to tell you an embarrassing story…

Basically I met up with a high school friend from the other university in town late Thursday night, we got way too drunk at a club across town, and I ended up losing my wallet. How did that happen, you might ask? Truthfully I don’t remember. At a certain point my memory goes black and I remember waking up in my friend’s dorm room still drunk while she dry heaved into a garbage can.

Yeah. Like I said, embarrassing.

Mickey laughed at me a little, but he was nice about it. He was also up for it when I asked him if he wanted to join me in my Saturday night plans, which involved bussing to the club to pick up my wallet, which had (thankfully) been found.

Kay: It will be the lamest adventure ever but we’ll make it fun?

Mickey: We do have an awesome habit of making boring stuff fun, so why not? I’m in

Kay: Also prepare to possibly get lost. I’m the worst at bus routes.

Mickey: That’s what will make it an adventure

To be honest I couldn’t believe he was coming. Nobody wants to spend their Saturday doing errands. In spite of my promise to make it fun, I fully expected it to be a pretty boring trip.

It was anything but boring.

This is basically how I described it to Dee later:

First we missed our stop to transfer buses, so then we had to figure out a new route, and then my RA just miraculously turned out to be on the bus so he helped us find the right stop. And then we ran into a whole bunch of guys from Mickey’s floor who were wearing suits and they wouldn’t tell us where they were headed so now we think they’re probably spies. And then we finally got to the club and we got to see the super special backroom of the club because I had to go into the office to get my wallet. And then we were waiting at the bus stop and this like 20 something woman was like, are you waiting for the 8? Because it’s not coming for like 20 minutes and I know a quicker way. So we just like blindly followed this woman and we walked across the river, which is so pretty at night and the parliament buildings are all lit up. And then she started telling us about how she does European broadsword fighting, and we were like what? So she told us all about it, and it’s crazy because they wear full armour and the swords are actually sharp and stuff, not like fencing. And then she waited at the bus stop with us and made sure we got on the right bus, so thanks Mika the broadsword fighter. And then we wandered around the market downtown because Peter was determined to find Menchie’s and we found it and tried all the flavours of frozen yogurt, and then we walked over to the Parliament buildings, and the clock on the Peace Tower started chiming just as we were standing below it, which was so cool. And then we warmed up standing next to the fireplace that is also a fountain right in front of Parliament. Then we took the bus home and spent the ride talking to a chick I know from frosh who was dressed up like a League of Legends character with a blue wig and very little else.

We ended the night standing outside my building just laughing about the whole night. It was the weirdest first date ever, Mickey admitted, but that was why he liked it.

To be honest I hadn’t planned on dating at all this year. Guys are confusing and complicated and I just wanted to have fun in first year. Mickey isn’t confusing though, or complicated. He just makes me smile. I couldn’t stop smiling, even when I was sitting in my dorm room later that night. I don’t know what that means yet, but I’m trying not to over think it.

19 thoughts on “A very strange date

  1. I’m a little envious. Doing econ homework with you sounds like more fun than, well, any usual first-date activity I can think of.

    Oh, and stop getting so drunk you black out. That is seriously dangerous in a whole host of ways. And I’m twice your age so I feel I can lecture you. So cut it out.

  2. Mika the broadsword fighter… awesome! Sounds like a fabulous first date.

  3. That sounds like the most fabulous first date ever. I hope you have many more 🙂

  4. Awh! I love that. I agree, pretty fabulous first day (I mean really – you met Mika the Broadsword Fighter). I dig a person who can make an errand into an adventure. I also dig anything relationship-like that starts out as friendship.

  5. Yeah whatever you ass gonna overthink this shit so big.

  6. AWW!! I’m going to be aw-ing all day! SO ADORBS! =D

  7. It’s time for an update. Just saying.

  8. […] remember Mickey? He’s that cute baseball player I went on a fun, unorthodox date with back in November.  Yep, that’s right, this story is about him. I enjoyed myself on that […]

  9. Sooo his name is Peter.

Leave a Reply

