Frosh Day 1, aka “What the hell is going on?”

It’s 1:30am and crazy frosh facilitators in neon outfits are apparently going to be banging on our doors and chanting things to wake us up tomorrow at the inhumane hour of 8am, but I am posting because I have to organize my thoughts somehow.

The last two days have been this weird mixture of bewilderment and confusion and excitement. On one hand, you don’t know anyone, you’re constantly lost, and you never know what’s going on at any given time. On the other hand, everyone is so nice and friendly and willing to strike up conversations, and the frosh leaders are so helpful and enthusiastic. I think the big thing is that everyone wants to have a good time and make friends and get settled, and that makes such a difference. Highlights of the last 48 hours:

-Having a single ROCKS. I honestly have more closet and drawer space than I do at home, and I set up my new stereo and just rock out! Plus if I need some quiet time I can just escape there. Today I honestly had a nap in the afternoon, it was great.

-Today I walked around campus with a girl from the room next door and she introduced me to her friend and her friend’s roommate. I totally hit it off with the roommate, who is in public affairs and is just as excited about political science and economics as I am. Plus, she gets my sarcasm.

-There was a Much Music video dance tonight and it was one of the best dances I’ve been to for sure because no one knew each other, so you could just start dancing with whoever.  I started out just dancing with the two girls that I share a bathroom with in our dorm, but we kept inviting people to join us and eventually it was this circle of guys and girls just going crazy, it was awesome. At one point this guy grabbed my hand and pulled me into the middle and I swear he started doing ballroom dance moves. He lifted me up and dipped me and everything, it was so fun!

And okay, obviously it hasn’t been complete fun like that all the time. It’s still hard because everything is different, the place and the people and  the routine and even the weather. It’s so humid here and midwestern body is not handling it well. I’m hot and sticky all the time.

The pros definitely outweigh the cons though. I think it’s partially just because I love new things and I love the craziness of it all. Meeting new people and just letting loose and being crazy just gives me this rush. Who knows what tomorrow will bring?

6 thoughts on “Frosh Day 1, aka “What the hell is going on?”

  1. Sounds like you’re going to have a fabulous time. The start of university is great – you’re all in the same boat, nobody knows anybody and even if you don’t become best buddies with the people you meet in your dorm, there are still classes to come. The possibilities are endless. I sometimes wish I could go back to those days!

    • Haha feel free to live vicariously through me. I definitely feel like there’s pressure to become best friends with the first people I meet, even though that doesn’t really make sense.

  2. Dude I was in this situation back in February… it is a crazy time and you won’t be sleeping much at all. But get involved and try and meet everyone you can and it will all be ok! Have fun and enjoy your orientation week! 🙂

  3. So glad you’re having fun!

Leave a Reply

