Mundane dreams

Do you ever have mundane dreams? It’s the kind where nothing good happens, like winning the lottery or finding your true love, but also nothing horrific happens, like falling off a cliff or being chased by an axe murderer. I honestly think mundane dreams are the best sort of dream because whenever I have one I wake up feeling the most rested and refreshed I’ve ever been. I think it’s because they don’t get you too excited, either with terror or with joy. When you’re sleeping, what you really want to do is rest. There’s no need to get too worked up about anything.

The best mundane dream I ever had was a couple months ago. It went a little like this:

Sar and I went to see a local band. The local part is important because they aren’t very famous and we could go see them anytime we want for pretty cheap, so it wasn’t a big deal. The concert was completely uneventful, but the music was good, and I distinctly remember that we had a good time. Then, after the show, the lead singer of the band came up to Sar and I and asked us if we wanted to go to the bar with the band. We shrugged and said we’d go. I should say also that the lead singer of this band is hardly a heartthrob; he’s kind of weird looking actually. So we went to the bar with them and we talked about the show with them and had a few drinks and a really nice time.

That was the whole dream. Pleasant, but pretty boring, right? Exactly. Mundane dreams are so underrated.

7 thoughts on “Mundane dreams

  1. I suspect a mundane life might also be the best life. But I don’t know yet.

  2. Kaysfairytale, If I have ever had a mundane dream I don’t remember a thing about it. The dreams I have had over the years either scared the crap out of me or filled me with joy. I am amazed by the clarity you have with your mundane dreams. And I am sure you enjoy the rest that comes with them. Please take care, Bill

Leave a Reply

