How to look like you’re stylish without actually trying

I always laugh when I’m reading my yearbook comments because I always get a bunch that are like, “Kay you are so stylish!” *Cue michevious grin* If only you knew, girl from bio class, that it’s all just an illusion…

I figured out the trick in Grade 10. All it takes to be considered stylish is to add a few key pieces to your wardrobe and use them correctly:

-Wear a scarf. The bigger the scarf is, the more stylish you look; don’t ask me why. I guess you know what they say about big scarves…big scarf

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

-Buy strange shoes. They don’t even have to be cute, they just have to not be UGGs or ballet flats. People will see them and automatically think that you know about some cool trend that they haven’t heard about yet, when in reality they’re just granny boots from one of those shoes-with-arch-support stores.

granny shoes

-Get something high-waisted. Skirt, pants, shorts, whatever. It’s just like regular clothes but you tuck your shirt into it and are all of a sudden 150% trendier.

Oh look they're like regular pants only HIGHER wow wow wow

Oh look they’re like regular pants only HIGHER wow wow wow

-Wear a hat. Bam. Trendy. Also, it’s great for bad hair days.

To look extra pretentious wear a beret like I do

To look extra pretentious wear a beret like I do

-Throw on an ugly sweater. People will think you’re wearing it to be ironic, but it’s actually really comfy and your grandma knitted it for you for Christmas.

Not sure if this guy is being ironic or if he just likes his sweater

Not sure if this guy is being ironic or if he just likes his sweater
This is from Blue Collar Catwalk

-Cute little patterns are always cool. The quirkier the better. I have this t-shirt with little ducks on it that everyone thinks is the most stylish thing for some reason.

It's automatically cool because birds

It’s automatically cool because birds

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

-Wear a t-shirt on top of a dress. Then put a belt around your waist. It takes no effort, I swear, but it makes people think that you work for Vogue or something.

Ta da! Easy peasy. This is from Rachel the Hat

Ta da! Easy peasy.
This is from Rachel the Hat

-Get patterned tights. They’re like regular tights, but more impressive for some reason. Patterns? On your legs? This is crazy shit.

No, trust me, they're actually cool

No, trust me, they’re actually cool

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

-Roll up your pant cuffs just once. I don’t know why, it just looks cool. Like, hey, that girl knows how to wear those pants differently. I don’t know.

oh hello I just rolled these up to go wading in the stream or whatever.

oh hello I just rolled these up to go wading in the stream or whatever.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

That’s it. You don’t have to know anything about what’s trendy to make people think you’ve got style, and you also don’t have to spend hours planning your outfit. I do like one of these things a day usually.

4 thoughts on “How to look like you’re stylish without actually trying

  1. I believe in rocking your own style too! 😀

  2. I need your help updating my bellman uniform – STAT!

Leave a Reply

