What to say when people ask you what you’re doing after high school

-I’m taking a year off to practice my beat boxing skills

-I’m moving to a remote hut on the top of a mountain to live as a hermit with my goats

-I aspire to be the next Paris Hilton, or maybe the next Kim Kardashian

-I’m taking a year off to work on my Klingon language skills. Also my elfan.

-I’m renting a Winnebago and travelling around rural Canada to find myself

-I’m joining Greenpeace

-I’m moving to the Playboy mansion

-I’m joining the Hell’s Angels

-I’m joining the circus

-I’m training to be a ninja

-I’m going to spy school

-I’m searching for Horcruxes

-I’m taking a year off to blog about how I don’t know what I’m doing with my life

-I’m taking a year off to blog about blogging about how I don’t know what I’m doing with my life

Just whatever you do, don’t tell anyone you’re going to journalism school. That, they tell me, is completely impractical.

19 thoughts on “What to say when people ask you what you’re doing after high school

  1. Brilliant!
    And by the way, I went to journalism school.

  2. you go and follow your dreams, even though they are “impractical”! Need to take off now, searching for some horcruxes… πŸ˜€

  3. Since you will soon run off to be a ninja, I hope you won’t forget your blog or your readers. And if you do give up the gig for other tricks, I hope you tell us your real name, so we can look for it n print someday and see how our favorite fairy tale princess turned out.

  4. That last one sounds like fun. You could do it in Klingon!

    Good luck with journalism school! Congratulations, and have fun πŸ˜‰

  5. ohh man, haha. The level of respect that I get as a journo student at my uni has made me seriously consider dropping out to become a Japanese assassin…

    Nah, jokes. It is GREAT. Enjoy your holidays and get keen for school!!! πŸ™‚

  6. My favorite is the Ninja one!

  7. A young man told me yesterday that he was considering majoring in journalism. I did NOT tell him it was impractical or that he would find it hard to land a job afterwards. You would be proud. πŸ™‚

  8. While trying to be the new Paris/Kim, just don’t let your sex tapes leak, kay?

Leave a Reply

