The best and worst date ever

I have a feeling that Lis mentioned to Tim that I didn’t really enjoy the triple date he took me on a while ago, because he texted me the other day and was like, let’s go on a real date.

Kay: Like a date with no other people? Just us two?

Tim: Yeah for real.

Kay: *state of utter disbelief*

I really did think that this would be the night where Kay-and-Tim finally happened. He now knew I liked him, thanks to the time I drunkenly texted him on my birthday saying so (I blame Lis. As my designated driver she should know that friends don’t let friends text drunk). And he totally likes me, and we always have such a good time together, so I thought that this date would be the beginning of something.

It was pretty great, at first.

In classic Tim fashion, we couldn’t just go on a regular date. Instead, he explained rather cryptically when he called me, we were going on an adventure. The adventure turned out to be going to a water park, which was so much fun because Tim and I are both eight-year-olds at heart. Then, we drove to a mystery location that he refused to reveal to me. We drove for quite a while into the heart of the city, and ended up at this absolutely breathtaking hill overlooking downtown. The buildings were all lit up and glittery, I just got completely wrapped up in the perfection of the moment.

We weren’t just there to enjoy the view though. Tim had managed to rig his iPad so that it was suspended from the front seats, and we sat in the back seats covered in blankets. He had even brought movie snacks and drinks and he remembered that I don’t like popcorn, so he brought Skittles instead.

Can you see why I thought this was going to be perfect?

He held my hand as we watched Knight and Day, and I just kept thinking about how this was the most thoughtful thing a boy had ever done for me, and okay, to be honest I was pretty sure that we were going to start making out anytime now. But we didn’t and the movie ended and it was time to go.

And then-and I swear I will never be able to get this out of my head-he said. “I’m going to kiss you now.”

And not in the sexy, I’m-a-guy-and-I’m-telling-you-how-it-is kind of way. It was more like a I-planned-this-date-and-I-think-this-is-how-it-should-go kind of way. Cue alarm bells ringing in my head. Why do boys have to be weirrrrddd? Why can’t they just be normal and natural and not awkward?

So then he kissed me and I was like, okay that was awkward but at least he’s an okay kisser. Like there wasn’t too much tongue or spit or anything. So we made out for a bit and then he pulled away, and I swear to god I’m not making this up, he went “Mwaaah!” Like that kind of fake kissing sound.

…I just…

…like could there possibly be a bigger turn off?

I didn’t even know what to do. I was just like, we should probably go now. I couldn’t look him in the eye the entire ride home.

I’m just so disappointed. Like I’m just sick of meeting guys and everything goes right and then it gets ruined because the guy is awkward or lacking confidence or just like super duper weird like Tim. Is it really so hard to find a nice, sweet guy who is also confident and possibly a good kisser?

Apparently.

 

15 thoughts on “The best and worst date ever

  1. Yes, I think it is. So sorry.

  2. Mind I ask exactly how long you were seeing him ? Luckily, you met someone who you didn’t mind dating. I have various issues which my blog explains. Check it out.

    bilalmussa.wordpress.com

    Bil

  3. Because you’re so wonderful I nominated you for a Beautiful Blogger Award. http://abihya.wordpress.com/
    Thanks for all you do!

  4. Your prince is out there somewhere.
    I just wish I knew how to bring you two together.
    But I got nothin’.
    I suck.

  5. H-i-l-a-r-i-o-u-s… Can’t stop laughing. Your great (LOL (:

Leave a Reply

