Triple Dates: An open letter to all boys

Dear boys of the world,

Never ask a girl on a triple date. First of all, it makes you look like a coward. It’s basically saying, look, I’m too nervous to go on a date with you by myself, so I’m going to invite four other people as a buffer to make it less awkward (IT DOESN’T MAKE IT LESS AWKWARD).

Second of all, it makes it look like you don’t actually want to spend time with the girl. Even if you do talk to her on said date, every time you talk to your friend, she’ll be like, wow why doesn’t he just date his friend and get it over with (because girls sometimes lack logic when they like a boy, okay?).

Third of all, a certain level of PDA is expected by all parties involved, and it becomes weirdly competitive which is SO STUPID. If one couple holds hands, the other two feel obligated to do the same. Seriously, how ridiculous is that?

Boys, the point of a date is to spend more time with a girl you like. If you’d rather obfuscate that process by inviting four other people along, than basically it either means that you have the emotional maturity of a thirteen year old, or the two of you just aren’t meant to be. Either way, it sucks to be you and it’s not fair to the girl.

So just don’t freaking do it. Say no to the triple date.

Love,

Kay

P.S. This does not have anything to do with Tim in any way.

P.P.S. Just kidding, I’m super mad at him.

P.P.P.S. Like seriously don’t accuse me of playing hard to get if you wait three months to ask me on A TRIPLE FREAKING DATE!!!

10 thoughts on “Triple Dates: An open letter to all boys

  1. Some very nice people are emotional cowards. I don’t know, maybe he’s worth a chance. Or, maybe he’s not that into you. Hard to say. Time will tell, I guess.

  2. HA! I mean, not ha to your life – but love the way you wrote this. Also – I hope for no more triple dates in your future.

    Unless it gives you more funny posts like this. Then sadly, I do wish for it…

  3. […] have a feeling that Lis mentioned to Tim that I didn’t really enjoy the triple date he took me on a while ago, because he texted me the other day and was like, let’s go on a […]

  4. H..i..l..a..r..i..o..u..s… Your a great writer… Someone call Ellen!

Leave a Reply

