Hello.

Sooo…guess who’s baaaaacckkk?!

And man, do I have some good stories saved up. There are some good posts coming up my friends.

But first of all, I’d just like to say thank you from sticking by me through all of my senior year madness. After going two months without posting I kind of assumed everyone would have forgotten about me. When I logged back on to WordPress for the first time today, the back up of comments and likes almost made me fall off my chair. Okay, I did fall off my chair, but that might have just been some awkward teenage clumsiness.

You guys are so sweet and thoughtful and caring. There were all these notes asking how I was doing and when was I coming back, and according to my stats you were checking up on me regularly. I thought I would lose followers, but I actually gained them, which is amazing. So hello also to new readers!

I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again and again and again: the blog world is an amazing place and I feel so lucky to be apart of it.

Now, down to business. Things about me right now:

1) I am one day away from being finished my semester from hell. My last exam (physics ughhhhhhh kill me) is tomorrow and then I am free. HOORAAAY!!! So expect some fun posts this week as I will be off school and bored most likely.

2) I just submitted my first article to that magazine I work for. Remember that? It’s so exciting. I can’t believe I’m actually being paid to write things. In another month or so my writing is going to be in print!

3) After this week I’m taking another hiatus. So soon Kay? What is with you?

But I have a good reason, I swear! On Sunday I’m leaving for Kenya for three weeks!!!

I’ve been getting ready for this trip for a few months but with all the madness I haven’t gotten a chance to mention it before now. A woman at my church runs a non-profit in Kenya that includes, among other programs, a school in a slum in Nairobi. They recently moved into a building which badly needs some major renovation, so our church put together a team to send to work for a few weeks.

I’m both the youngest and probably the least qualified on the team, but what I lack in experience I think I make up for in enthusiasm. I am so unbelievably excited. The moment I heard about the opportunity I jumped on it and I pretty much haven’t stopped babbling about it to everyone I know ever since. The best part about this project is that it’s not just about building walls, it’s about building relationships in the community. I love this organization because they don’t believe in just coming in and handing out money and then leaving. They’re in it for the long haul and they want to help the community help themselves. The organization also includes a scholarship program which means that once kids graduate from the school they have a chance to pursue post secondary studies. We’re staying in an apartment with a bunch of those students while we’re there which is going to be really cool.

Oh man, I could just go on and on forever about this trip.

So anyway, that is me right now. Bear with me as I attempt to catch up on what’s going on with everyone in the next few days. Man, I missed this.

10 thoughts on “Hello.

  1. I was wondering what had happened to you! 🙂 Glad to hear things are going well. Have fun in Kenya! I did a service trip to Tanzania my senior year of high school to volunteer at a school, so it sounds similar to what you’re doing. I had an absolutely amazing time and I’ll never forget the experience I had there. I’m sure it will be similar for you!

  2. Welcome back welcome back dear! So good to see your writing again! And a hiatus to go to Kenya? Most definitely allowed as I’m sure we all can’t wait to hear about it when you get back! Good luck on your test tomorrow!

  3. Hey there, Kay!
    Congratulations on your magazine article! Woo hoo, you’re going to be in print! Can’t wait to hear about Kenya, sounds like so much fun
    Good luck on your test 🙂

  4. Thank’s for following! Much appreciated
    ☆*:.。. o(≧▽≦)o .。.:*☆

Leave a Reply

