Helpful homework tips

Last Sunday I had a mountain of physics homework. Twenty-eight questions to be exact. And they were all those freaking brain-burner ones where you have to picture some bizarre situation in your head, like for some reason there are two charged plates in outer space, and it’s super important that you find out the distance between them. Sounds like a useful life skill.

Okay, so I was a little bitter about doing the questions. But I got them done in just four hours, and now I’m going to share with you how I achieved such a great success. Here is my genius strategy:

12:00 I made the ultimate study snack: chocolate milk with peanut butter and crackers. Except I didn’t want to get peanut butter on my homework, so I just sat and ate it before I started. It only took like 15 minutes. It probably would have taken five, but I figured that I might as well read while I ate, and when I was finished eating I kept reading because I was at a really good part and I had to finish the chapter.

12:15 Down to business. Opened workbook. Read first question. Felt a little chilly, so I went down to my room to get a sweater. Noticed that the sweater would look really cute with a pair of leggings, so I changed out of my jeans.

12:30 Went back upstairs. Did first question in record time-only three minutes! To celebrate, I made myself another glass of chocolate milk and took a quick 15 minute chocolate milk break.

12:48 Okay, time to buckle down now. Check to see how many questions left to do: 27. Calculate how much time it will take to finish if I take 3 minutes per question: 81. Crap, that’s like an hour and twenty minutes! I decide I need more snacks for this.

12:50 Spend another ten minutes slicing up an apple and eating it.

1:00 Do another question. Do a victory dance to celebrate. Count how many questions I have left (26)

1:05  Wonder if I have any new comments on WordPress. Decide it wouldn’t hurt to take a five minute break to check. After all, I just did a question.

1:06-1:50 Spend three quarters of an hour replying to comments, reading blogs and drafting a new post.

1:50 Realize that it’s been two hours and I’ve only done two questions. Flip through workbook to see how much work is left. Spin around in my wheely office chair to avoid thinking about how much work I still have to do.

2:00 Finally buckle down and do four more questions.

2:15 Glance at computer screen and see that there’s a new episode of The Lizzie Bennet Diaries on Youtube. Figure I can afford a four minute break to watch it.

2:19 A collection of deleted scenes from Mean Girls pops up on my suggested videos. Obviously I have to watch that too.

2:45 Three Mean Girls videos and four cat-riding-Roomba videos later, I glance at the clock. Crap, I still have so many questions to do!

2:46 Spin in wheely chair some more

2:48 Remember that I have Grey’s Anatomy recorded on my PVR. Realize that I can’t watch it until I finish my homework

2:49 Get to work. Grey’s Anatomy is finally the motivation I need. I’m dying to know what is going to happen with Christina and Owen post-plane crash!

4:05 Finally finished all 28 questions. My brain actually physically burns. Probably.

Feel free to adopt the Kay method of work. It may not be the most  efficient, but it gets the job done.

15 thoughts on “Helpful homework tips

  1. That sounds like every homework situation I had!! The best was college, when It took me 3 weeks to do homework assignments. The motivation I needed? “Oh, there’s that silly midterm test tomorrow… guess I’ll be staying up all night!”

  2. I don’t know why I never take chocolate milk breaks. Must do this more often!
    My motivation is Professor Angry Spit. See, he spits a LOT when he’s angry, and he usually only gets angry when we don’t do our homework

  3. Hahaha. I swear. Happens to me all the time. Sadly, I don’t have much homework now. More like just exams coming up. Should be studying. Supposed to be doing it but the whole “I’ve still got two weeks left” thing screws it up. I’m currently on my check wordpress comments and blogs moment. Must rush 😛 lol

  4. I was always guilty of calculating everything BUT the actual problem. Grey’s would have whipped me into shape too though. Oh, that reminds me. I have some Netflix to catch up on. So much for a new post today!

  5. I swear I’m doing exactly this right now except I’m using the potential of a good nights sleep as a motivator.

  6. A good friend of mine is getting his degree in physics. GOOD FOR YOU! YOU ARE SMARTER THAN ME!

  7. I’ll let my daughter check this one out – maybe!

Leave a Reply

