I’m a real journalist!

I’m so excited and flattered and nervous that I just feel like I’m going to burst. I got a job offer! Not another monotonous waitressing job, (although I also have a new one of those), but I was offered a column at  a local magazine.

It’s one of those community things that’s more ads than magazine, but still, it’s a real grown up job. They put out a magazine every three months and I have a full page to myself with my picture and everything.

It feels like this came out of nowhere, but I guess it has been a long time coming. I just never thought it would actually happen. One day in the spring I happened to see on Twitter that they were hiring writers, and I just decided to apply. In retrospect, I have no idea what was going through my mind. I mean, the magazine was clearly looking for adults with degrees and experience. I guess I looked at their magazine and thought, I could write that.

I sent my resume in with a rather impertinent cover letter explaining to the editor exactly why it would be in her best interest to hire a high school student instead of a real journalist. This is part of it:

” I have had the opportunity to interview school staff and students, but also school trustees and even an Emmy award winner.  Experience like this is extremely valuable and difficult to obtain at my tender age, and I believe it is exactly the type of experience needed for the position you have available.”

You see? Impertinent.

Needless to say, I wasn’t really expecting a response. The editor did email me back and ask for some samples of my writing, but after that I heard nothing from her for nearly six months. I didn’t take offense to it. So she didn’t want to hire a high school student. Big deal. It was worth a shot.

And then I got an email from her last week saying that she wanted to meet with me! I was so confused, but I set a date to meet for coffee, and showed up.

She offered me the column in the first two minutes.

My dad has this theory that when you show that you’re really passionate about something, people will see that, and the opportunities will start coming to you. I don’t know if I believe that completely, but I also believe that this editor must have seen something in me. Or maybe she just figured that any teenager crazy enough to apply for an adult’s job deserves a shot.

Maybe I’ll never know. But I do no one thing: this opportunity, however it came about, is huge and important and I’m going to take advantage of every second of it.

21 thoughts on “I’m a real journalist!

  1. You actually just write very well. Congratulations!

  2. That is outstanding! Congratulations! 🙂

  3. Or maybe she just really liked the way you write?
    Congratulations! I am super excited for you!

  4. Congrats 😀 That’s hugee!!! I bet you had a smile on your face while you were typing this post. I sure as hell would’ve. Seems like a challenge ahead of you , a challenge you can very well accomplish.

  5. I wish I could like this post twice. I believe what your dad says about passion! I can’t wait until the day that I can say the same. I knew you were headed places. Oh, and applying for a position you thought was off limits to you was badass. Keep doing stuff like that.

  6. That is SO wonderful! Congratulations! And the best part? Since you’re working there, you can actually ASK her why she liked you! 🙂

  7. That is huge. Really happy for you. Is there an online edition?

  8. Kay, you do indeed write very well and that was recognized. Being impertinent didn’t hurt you in the least, and your father was spot on, your passion does in fact show thru, and will open doors you never expected to open. Keep it up, your doing great — Bill

  9. Awesome! Sounds like you definitely deserve it, congrats!!

  10. […] I just submitted my first article to that magazine I work for. Remember that? It’s so exciting. I can’t believe I’m actually being paid to write things. In […]

Leave a Reply

