Coincidences: Part 2

I’m not a big believer in fate, or everything-happens-for-a-reason, or kismet, or whatever you want to call it. However, I also can’t ignore the fact that the chances of meeting the same gorgeous boy twice in two days in a strange city are astronomical. And yet, that’s exactly what happened.

It was late morning and we were at some museum that my dad desperately wanted to see. I was standing facing an exhibit of some antique tank, but really I was looking out the window longingly at a park that was just begging for a pick up soccer game.  When someone tapped lightly on my shoulder, never in a million years would I have guessed that it would be the boy that I had met the day before at the university tour. Actually, at that point I had kind of written him off as a figment of my imagination.  After all, no way would a boy that hot smile like that at a girl like me.

But there he was, eyes just as intense as I remembered them, and arms just as muscular. I tried to wipe the drool away from my mouth before he noticed it.

I think he made some joke about me stalking him, and I think I replied with something somewhat witty. Or, at the very least, coherent. I learned that his name was Eli (Well not actually, but that’s the name I’m giving all y’all) and introduced me to the friend he was with. We chatted a little bit more about where we were from, and what sights we had seen on our respective visits and such. I liked that he took it well when I teased him a little bit about wearing pants to the tour in 35 degree heat.

It wasn’t long before my dad came up beside me and said that it was time for us to go for lunch. We left, but not before the boy had learned my full name, enough, I hoped, to find me on Facebook.

Sure enough, my phone buzzed a couple hours later with a new friend request. I tried to contain my excitement, but Pal shot me a pretty weird look, so I probably let a giggle slip out.

That’s pretty much the end of the story though. I mean, we messaged on Facebook for a bit, and then he gave me his number and we switched to texting, but the problem is that there’s really no where to go from here. I mean, sure, I’ve found out that he’s a football player and he loves to write and his favorite City and Colour song is The Girl (Which is sooo unbelievable sweet), but he also lives about a thousand kilometres away. I like texting him, but you can’t really know someone just from texts. And you also can’t kiss someone over text.

I still don’t believe in fate.  However, something special happened when I met Eli, I know that. Maybe we’ll meet again next year at university, or maybe I’ll never see him again. Whatever happens, I know that I’ll never forget our chance meeting. I could never forget that smile, or that electric feeling when I first met his eyes.

8 thoughts on “Coincidences: Part 2

  1. Oooh, I like him already!
    I’m still rooting for ya!

  2. […] you’re confused, the beginning of the Eli story is here and here. Share this:FacebookTwitterDiggLike this:LikeBe the first to like […]

  3. Oh man. First off, I hate how the Facebook friend request has replaced asking people straight up for their number as a first move, but either way that is too cute. Secondly, don’t write him off just because he seems impossibly far away. I never in a million years thought I would meet someone who lives 1434 miles away from me (yes, I googled our distances) and end up having a long distance relationship, but that happened to me. Just saying, if things progress via text, and you really think there is something there, go for it! Oh, and there is always Skype … and airplanes :).

    • Hmm there are so many things I would like to say about Facebook social awkwardness. There may be a post about this in the future.
      Thanks for the advice…I always want to believe that crazy fairytale things like this can happen (hence the name of my blog), but I’m often proven wrong. I guess we’ll have to wait and see how it turns out. What happened with your long distance relationship?

      • I am currently still in it! In fact, he just came down to Louisiana and visited me in New Orleans this weekend. I’ve been pondering creating a second blog addressing long distance relationships and online dating, because it is certainly … a challenge. But just know, crazy romantic movie stuff does happen sometimes :). Many people think it is ridiculous or silly to believe in or have hope for a “fairytale ending” so to speak, but I think it is what keeps us truckin’.

Leave a Reply

