What does one do with a boyfriend?

Okay, get your mind out of the gutter.

I just mean what does one do once you have a boyfriend? I feel like I have spent most of my teenage life chasing boys, but somehow I had never considered what you do once you catch said boy.

Not that I really had to catch Patt.  In fact, there wasn’t much drama at all.  We have the same friends, and we go to the same parties, and so it was only natural that we met.  The thing about Patt is that he’s like me at parties; he gets a high off just being around all of our friends and having fun.  Patt’s the guy who will start a nerf gun battle, or a who-can-bounce-this-mint-the-most-times-with-a-red-Solo-cup  contest.  That is so me.  One time we put a piece of brocolli on a hook on the ceiling and went around telling people “look, there’s broccoli on the ceiling!”. Everyone was like, “I’m not that gullible, there’s obviously not broccoli on the ceiling,” and Patt and I could not stop laughing.

Wow, I read this and it sounds really silly and childish.  I could keep describing the random things we do, but it’s not even that.  It’s that smile he gives me as if we’re sharing a private joke.  It’s those nights when the party starts to wind down and he strokes my hair and I lay my head on his shoulder and he whispers to me, “It’s okay, just close your eyes.”  It’s the poem he wrote me for Valentine’s day; a little cheesy but so sweet, and the way he nervously wrung his hands when he asked me to be his girlfriend.

It was all so easy, but now I don’t know where we go from here.  I don’t want to be one of those girls who spends all her time with her boyfriend, and honestly I have so much going on that I don’t have a lot of free time to spend with him.  Right now it’s mostly a few minutes here and there in the hallways, nothing more.  I don’t want this to feel like another commitment I have to fulfill.

I don’t know how to be a girlfriend. I can kiss him, I can goof around with him, but is that it? Maybe it’s too soon to say.

I just don’t want to screw this up.

3 thoughts on “What does one do with a boyfriend?

  1. What a coincidence…I just got a boyfriend too 🙂 We’ve been together for a little over the month, and I forgot how much being a girlfriend feels like a full time job! I think the important part is to not worry about BEING a girlfriend to him rather than just being yourself. The rest will come naturally. Even if you can’t go on dates every weekend, the important part is to just spend time together and enjoy yourselves. A relationship shouldn’t be a commitment hassle for you; it should be something you love and look forward to every day!

  2. […] I survived, and am back to experience more boy problems The life of a surfer is just […]

Leave a Reply

