Where does the love go?

I’ve been thinking about love. Specifically the romantic kind, I guess. I feel like lately all I’ve seen is that relationships result from mutual want. Guys want sex. Girls want attention; they want a concrete attachment. But where does love fit in to all this?

Lis and her boyfriend Jar were always my model for what love was supposed to look like.  They were friends first, and that friendship steadily grew into more as they got older.  There was something about seeing them together that just seemed…right. Like they fit together; they filled eachother’s holes. 

Then Jar came back from some LDS camp down south and said he had changed.  He didn’t have room in his life for Lis and God too. So he broke up with Lis, promising that “they would still be friends”.

But where did the love go? How could something that seemed so concrete change in a week apart?  Considering my total lack of experience in love, I have no way of understanding any of it.  But right now I’m not particularly inclined to try it out.  My life is boring, but it’s safe.  Love is dangerous.  It means giving someone everything you are and trusting that they’ll take care of it.

Lis is so messed up right now and I don’t know how to help her.  Part of me wants to rip Jar’s face off, but I know that won’t make Lis feel any better. What she really needs is him. But no one can bring the love back once it’s gone.

2 thoughts on “Where does the love go?

  1. I read somewhere that “If two past lovers can remain friends, it’s either they were never in love, or they still are.”

    Love is one huge gamble. Sometimes you win, and sometimes you lose. You just have to hope for the best and take your chances.

  2. Love that quote. I wonder if Lis and Jar will be able to stay friends?
    Of course you’re right. But it just seems so scary!

Leave a Reply

