It seemed like a good idea at the time…?

Text conversation between myself and Cade:

*General banter and various dirty jokes*

-Then-

Cade: Make out with me

Kay: Haha, good one.

Cade: No, really, would you?

Kay: Possibly.

Now, what, you ask, was going through my mind right then? Lots of things. Actually, a lack of things, specifically a lack of things I have done so far in my high school career. I’ve never gone to a house party. I’ve never gotten drunk. I’ve never even had a beer! And-
I’ve never made out with anyone, I confessed to Cade.

Cade: Really? Never?

Kay: Yeah, really. So maybe the next time I see you you could do me a favour and-

Cade: Okay. I’m honoured to be your first!

Fast forward a week to a campfire night at Jay’s. Everyone is hanging out in the front yard talking and getting ready to leave. I quickly slip into the backyard to “get my sweater” which I “accidentally” left by the fire pit (If I was telling this story in person, there would be painfully over-emphasized airquotes involved). Cade got the hint pretty quickly. He appeared in the yard a few seconds after me, striding deliberately forward-
-and sticking his tongue down my throat.
It was how I expected it I guess. I mean, it’s not like I ever thought it was going to be romantic, or sparks were going to fly or anything. But I was still a little bit disappointed. I thought it would be, like, sexy or something. I thought I would enjoy it at least. But it was just so awkward and foreign and I didn’t know what to do with my lips or my tongue…

I think I finally realized how bad an experience it was when it was over and I found myself wiping slobber off my chin.

13 thoughts on “It seemed like a good idea at the time…?

  1. I had a similar experience too. Some people are bad kissers no matter how hard they try. I guess others like me just aren’t into kissing at all, and they find other ways to display their affection. Personally I don’t find making out romantic at all. It’s exactly like you said…awkward!

  2. Alex! I’m glad to hear from you again! I hope one day both of us will meet good kissers. I hear they actually do exist.

  3. Don’t worry. They get better at it as they get older.

  4. Ok…Personally I think that if you don’t like making out, you just haven’t found the right guy to make out with 😉

    My first (real) kiss sounds a lot like yours…Kind of gross (lots of spit) and definitely awkward. I remember just thinking, what is he doing with his tongue? To be honest, the ones following it weren’t much better and I began developing a fear that it was me. The point is, in my experience they do get better as they get older. AND when it is someone you love it is amazing. the spit does’t even bother you…lol.

    Thanks for sharing your first kiss story! I love it 🙂

    • Thanks for reading Paige! To be honest, the kisses I’ve had since I wrote that post haven’t been much better. I’m holding out for a good one though, because lovely people like you keep telling me it will happen.
      If you’re interested, you can scroll back to my absolute first first kiss. I believe the post is called “Whirlwind romance…or something”

  5. I’m officially addicted to your blog, very funny, nice to have another person to realte to, although you are 3 years older.

Leave a Reply

