Hope

Hope has been a hard topic for me to confront lately. When my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer, I was told to keep hoping, keep praying, because somehow that was supposed to help her get better. I dressed up in pink and raised money and did all those things that someone affected by cancer is supposed to do to raise awareness for the disease and bring about “hope”.

But my mom still died.

I’m so lucky that I had my best friend Lis with me every step of the way. She has always been the epitome of hope in my life

I don’t think I’ll ever have this figured out, but I’m beginning to try to understand. This is what I think I know so far: we need hope.  We need to keep praying and searching for a solution, a cure, because the only alternative to being hopeful is being hopeless. I think that it’s just part of the human condition to believe that things can be better than how they are now.

My mom was sick for three years. The one thing I know for sure is that I simply couldn’t have made it through those years if I hadn’t hoped, in spite of the evidence to the contrary, that she would get better. I think hope is one of the things that makes humans special. Is it irrational? Sure. Is it often fruitless? Yes. But is it necessary, and meaningful, and important? Absolutely.

This post is part of a blog relay started by Melanie CrutchfieldIt’s apparently over, but I was really inspired by Miss Four Eyes’ post in it, and even though I wasn’t tagged in the relay, I decided to join in because I felt like I had something to say.

I’m also inviting Becca from 25 to Fly to do the same, because she really inspires me and I would love to hear what she has to say about hope.

If you’re reading this and you also have something to say about hope, please write a post and drop me a link to it! I’d love to read it!

Here are the instructions for the blog relay:

Step 1: Write a blog post about hope & publish it on your blog.
Step 2: Invite one (or more!) bloggers to do the same.
Step 3: Link to the person who recruited you at the top of the post, and the people you’re recruiting at the bottom of the post.

12 thoughts on “Hope

  1. “I think hope is one of the things that makes humans special. Is it irrational? Sure. Is it often fruitless? Yes. But is it necessary, and meaningful, and important? Absolutely.”
    That was beautiful. I’m so glad you decided to take part. I really think that if our words can help just one person, it can make a huge difference in the world.

  2. MissFourEyes basically stole the words right out of my mouth – um – right from my keyboard? I am honored by your kind words and am looking forward to participating in this! Great idea, great post, great everything.

  3. [...] Kay participated in a blog relay originally started by Melanie Crutchfield that aims to inspire bloggers to write about hope. Her take on the theme deserves a “nailed it “, and I strongly recommend the read. [...]

  4. [...] though I’m not following the rules completely, I want to respond to this blog post. Hope is something worth mentioning, and I hope (haha) more people follow the [...]

  5. Kay, Hope is what we live for, it his the fuel that helps us continue the fight, it gives us strenght, You writing is touching and heartfelt. I will be paying attention. Thank you for sharing – Bill

  6. These words are so beautiful and so true. My mum was diagnosed with breast cancer in November 2011, they told her it’d be okay and she wouldn’t have to have this operation or that medication so it was a shock when we realised how bad it was and how much she did indeed have to have. Luckily she survived and beaten it but I’ll always be afraid of it coming back. Right now my daddy’s ill as he had a heart attack a few weeks ago, but he’s okay too. Hope has been a major thing for me throughout everything that’s gone on so it’s reasurring to hear I’m not wasting my time on a lost cause. Thank you.

    • Hey I’m sorry that I haven’t checked my blog in so long, life has been crazy. I just want to say that your comment means a lot to me. Hang in there, the fear never really goes away but with the support of the right people you can get through anything.
      Keep hoping.

Leave a Reply

